Introduction of Japan

Shinkansen Bullet Train

Shinkansen Bullet Train Network Map

Shinkansen Network Map

Japan’s bullet trains are called “Shinkansen”.
The network of Shinkansen that links most major cities on islands of Honshu and Kyushu, is presently operated by four Japan Railway Group companies (JR Tokai, JR East, JR West & JR Kyushu).
The maximum speeds of the lines are 240 – 300km/h.
However, it is planned to increase speeds on the Tohoku Shinkansen up to 320km/h in the spring of 2013.
The Tokaido Shinkansen running between Tokyo and Osaka is the world’s busient high-speed rail line.
It transports more passengers than any other high speed line in the world.
Though, for the whole lines of Shinkansen, nobody was ever killed in Shinkansen railway accidents since the start of operation in 1964 until now.